Chatham High School held the spring sports awards ceremony last Wednesday.  Coaches conferred major awards during the open session, and awarded letters, pins, and medals during subsequent break-out sessions.

Athletic Director Jason Reece opened the ceremony by welcoming all athletes, coaches, and parents.  Reece outlined the many successes the spring sports teams earned during the season.  He mentioned that Anasia Harrell won a region championship in the 100 hurdles, Caleb Wright won region championships in the 1600 and the 3200, and that the baseball team won the region championship.  The baseball team went on to win the state championship later in the week.  Reece pronounced that Chatham High School won the coveted Stay-in-the-Game award by consistently displaying good sportsmanship during the 2018-2019 sports seasons.      

The varsity baseball team won the district, won the region, and won the 2A state championship.  The baseball team will have a separate awards ceremony that will accompany the state championship celebration.  

Stracey Pittmon presented awards to the junior varsity softball team.  Trista Walker won the Defensive Award.  Madison Rogers won the Offensive Award.

Jessica Goolsby and Chastity Emerson presented awards to the varsity softball team.  Caroline Vicks won the George Grekos Award for Outstanding Defensive Player.  Victoria Roark won the Bobby P. Burnett Award for Outstanding Offensive Player.  Angela Shelton won the Teresa McGorman Teammate Award.  Sage Crider won the Offensive Player of the Year award.  Alex Gauldin won the Defensive Player of the Year award.  

Mark Shields presented awards to the boys’ soccer team.  Bretley Quintero won the Newcomer Award.  Josh Harris won the Comeback Player of the Year award.  Hunter Furr won the Leadership Award.   

Jennifer Kinnett presented awards to the girls’ soccer team.   Elisabeth Hardy won the Coach’s Award.  Courtney McKenzie won the Most Improved award.  Goal Keeper Angelica Mendoza won the Golden Glove Award.   Kayla Reamey won the Most Outstanding Defensive Player award.  Blaine Adkerson won the Most Valuable Player award.

Roger Keaton and Neil Clarridge presented awards to the track teams.  Charity Wilson won the Rookie of the Year award.  Emerson Scollo won the Coach’s Award.  Anasia Harrell is team MVP.  Seth Barker won the Coach’s Award.  Rhamir Coles won the Most Valuable Thrower award.  Caleb Wright won the Most Valuable Runner award.  Wright is the region champion in the 1600 and the 3200; he placed third in the 3200 at the state championship meet.  Carter Boon won special recognition for his hard work, dedication, and perseverance.  Boon was the most improved runner on the track team.

It’s all over now.  Athletes turned in their uniforms, coaches put equipment away, and school is out for summer.  But with fall sports on the horizon, weights are clanking in the weight room, volleyballs are flying through the gym, and cheerleaders are rehearsing cheers.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.