Chatham High School celebrated the achievements of its athletic programs at the winter awards ceremony. Coaches conferred major awards during the open session, and awarded letters, pins, and medals during subsequent break-out sessions.

Cheerleading awards for both football and basketball seasons are given at the conclusion of the winter sports season. Rionna Luck and Angela Dillard are co-winners of the Captain Award for football cheerleaders. Jalaysia Winslow was named Most Improved football cheerleader.

Kennetria Torain won the Coach’s Award for basketball cheerleaders. Kennedy Jones earned the Most Dedicated basketball cheerleader award. Kaniyah Moore won Most Spirited basketball cheerleader.

Alexis Ferguson and Caraline Lawrence are co-winners of the Captain Award for junior varsity cheerleaders. La’Dashia Kates won the Most Spirited award. Chancity Wilson won the Coach’s Award. Alexis Ferguson was named Most Valuable Cheerleader.

The varsity boys’ basketball team presented three awards. Preston Turner won the Most Valuable Player award. Dawson Anderson won the Most Improved Player award. Nick Williams won the Coach’s Award.

The junior varsity boys’ basketball team presented two awards. Bradley Giles won the Coach’s Award. Daniel Hendricks won the Most Valuable Player award.

The wrestling team presented four awards. Kevin Kazmier won the Most Improved Wrestler award. Kamden Lewis won the Iron Man award. Parker Martin won the Most Valuable Wrestler. Martin also earned an award for 100 career wins.

The girls’ basketball team accomplished much last season. The Lady Cavaliers won the Dogwood District regular season title, the Dogwood District tournament title, and a Region C championship. Coach Lauren French gave six individual awards to players from a team that made Chatham High School history.

Bre Price and Destiny Wilson shared the title of Most Valuable Player. Price also won the Rebounding Award. Tommari Lee won the Offensive Player of the Year award. Talarra Stone won the Defensive Player of the Year award. Keslee Hylton won the Most Improved Player award.

The girls’ junior varsity team presented four awards. Nysheia Miller won the Offensive MVP award. Arianna Petty won the Most Improved Player award. Quandra Tunstall won the Most Valuable Player award.

Scholar Athlete awards are given to the male and the female athletes that carry the highest grade point average while competing in a sport. Rionna Luck won the Female Scholar Athlete award, and Clement Hurt won the Male Scholar Athlete award for the winter sports season.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.